Childhood Memories

When I was a child, I was fascinated by miniature things… and eggs…

I enjoyed looking at and tried playing with some of my grandmother’s tiny ornaments that replicated bigger things. Like a bathroom sink & cabinet magnet on her refrigerator. And yes, it still exists even today, lol.

I remember one time, spending the weekend at my other grandmother’s house. My aunt still lived there at the time and she was no older than 20 years old…I think. She was visiting a friend and took my sister and I with her. Her friend or her friend’s sister had a Barbie doll, her mom was a seamsters and she sewed all of Barbie’s clothes. I remembered going crazy over the many cute, little outfits Barbie could change into! I went home and tried to replicate a couple of them but couldn’t, because of course… I was too young to stitch and used scotch tape to tack my creations together which turned into a hot mess…

So any who… I’m rambling. I was rummaging through some stuff looking for something fitting to create an photo for today’s challenge when I stumbled upon these!

{May 8th Challenge: Found}

{Bag pack with essentials}

One of my own creations! I found them in my sock drawer. I think I was between 10 and 12 when I made this. Yes. I played with dolls until I was about 13 years old. I needed a school bag for my Kelly doll and so I made the bag, a notebook, crayons, a sketchpad, a pencil and play dough. I remember being quite proud of my final product and my sister thought it was the cutest thing ever! I’m glad that I kept it because it reminded me that there are no limits to a child’s imagination. I’m amazed at what children come up with when given the materials and time.

Have you ever crafted something when you were younger? Tell me about it. I would love to read it 🙂

{From left schoolbag, sketchpad, crayon box, play dough, pencil and notebook}

{My favourite item for a while was the pencil. It was the cutest thing ever. I tried to make an eraser for its end but that was a task and a half}

{I even made tiny crayons for the box out of real crayons – lol}

{I used a filmy tone on the photos in hopes of adding to the old memories effect}

{I also make miniature food for my Barbies with play dough}

Leave a Reply

