Aunty Lorraine’s Carrot Cake

Today I’m sharing a carrot cake recipe. I got it from my friend, Lorraine. She’s an exceptionally good cook and her carrot cake is the best I have ever had. Its soft, not too sweet and simply perfect.

{Fresh out the oven}

{Cooled and ready for frosting}

{Bon Apitoie}

Aunty Lorraine’s Carrot Cake

Ingredients

1 ½ c. flour

1 c. sugar

3 eggs

1 ½ tsp baking soda

1 ½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 c. corn oil

2 c. grated carrots

½ tsp salt

½ c. walnut (optional)

Method

  1. Put oil & sugar in mixing bowl and beat for 5 mins.
  2. Add eggs and beat one at a time.
  3. Sift all dry ingredients together and add.
  4. Add carrots & walnuts.
  5. Bake at 325 degrees for 50-60 mins. (20 mins for cupcakes – makes approx. 24)

I got the cream cheese frosting recipe from Cannella Vita. I really like this one because the cream cheese flavour isn’t very pungent like others I’ve had. I think all the ingredients are blended perfectly to create a really sweet but mild flavour. Try it! It’s my favourite! (On a side note, I halved the frosting ingredients and still had a little left over after frosting my cupcakes.)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/2 cup of shortening
  • 1/2 cup (one stick) unsalted butter @ room temp
  • 1 8oz bar cream cheese @ room temp
  • 1 Tbs. white vanilla extract
  • 2 lbs ( 8 cups) powder sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Instructions

Cream together shortening, butter and cream cheese until nice and smooth. Add vanilla into mixture and combine. Sift together sugar and salt, and slowly add to shortening, butter & cheese mixture. Make sure that all sugar is incorporated. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

