Easy Donuts

My first attempt at making donuts was a failure. I found the recipe online and they were suppose to be baked. I think they were called apple baked donuts or summin. Anywho, I wasn’t going to allow one failed attempt the discourage me from trying them again.

While browsing one of my favourite blog sites, A Beautiful Mess, I found a super easy recipe for making donuts! Just my luck right?

So here’s what you need and how you do it.

1. Store bought canister of biscuits.

{I actually had a canister of butter crescents so I used that instead but either shall do. Also, I added a bit of flour to my surface so that the dough won’t stick to it}

2. Roll dough out and cut donut holes. A cookie cutter or drinking glass or cup would suffice.

3. Heat oil for frying. You can use the donut holes to test the oil’s temperature.

4. Fry until golden brown.

{After frying, let cool}

5. After they are completely cooled, glaze and decorate.

{mmm mmm good…}

6. Finally… enjoy!

{Lick your fingers good}

For your dough you will need:

-1 or 2 store bought canister of biscuits (I got 10 donuts from my one canister of crescents)

-A little flour for rolling

-Enough oil to fry your donuts

For glaze you will need:

-2 cups powdered sugar

-3 tablespoons hot water

-2 tablespoons milk

-1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (use clear extract for white icing)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and dip donuts into glaze. Place on a cooling tray until glaze is set.

Go forth and make donuts! 

2 thoughts on “Easy Donuts

Leave a Reply

