One Cold Day & Pancakes

Yesterday afternoon while Rob was at work he messaged to inform me that Houston was expecting some beyond usual cold weather that night (last night) & tomorrow (today). He said that some areas were even going to experience snow. I was like, “Say promise! Who tell yuh dat babes?” He then emailed me a link to an online weather site that predicted our forecast & conditions. Instantly, I became excited. I really wanted to see snow. This little island gal has never seen snow. Ever. I refuse to visit a snowing country or state in the winter. Back home in Trinidad the only time we experience cold is when the a/c is blasted on 18 degrees Celsius. Don’t think I would survive a snowy winter well.

Flash forward to this morning:

We woke up a little after 9am and noticed that little droplets had froze on our somewhat alive plants in the back yard. No snow, bummer. We checked the weather app and it read a whooping 28°F. I did what any excited Trini would do: Put on some extra layers of clothing and headed out to investigate. I spent no more than 20 minutes outside and my fingers were painfully numb when I got back in. Check out our plants. I personally think they looked a little decorated with the frozen droplets. I also got a shot of some mini icicles on our neighbour’s roof.

icy leaves MDP-2 MDP-3 MDP-4 MDP-5

After all that cold weather, I was obviously in the mood for a little warmth and figured pancakes were an appropriate solution. Today I introduce Mom’s Perfect Pancakes! This is a recipe my family has used for years. Everyone loves it and its super quick and easy to make too.

Ingredients: 

1 egg

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tbls sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 cup milk

2 tbls oil or melted shortening

1/2 tsp salt

Method:

Preheat grill. Put all ingredients into a blender, starting with liquids, cover and mix until almost smooth.

Pour about 1/8 cup of batter into lightly oiled pan and bake until nicely browned. Flip & bake until browned. Repeat as many times as batter allows. Re-oil pan if needed. Serve with syrup, berries, jam, Nutella or whatever you fancy on your cakes of pan.  Bon Appetit 🙂

Hope you are having a great and much warmer day than I. Tata peeps!

Oh, for the curious, it did snow in some parts of Houston. Photos and videos were sent into our local news station. Yes. I am a little bit jealous.

2 thoughts on “One Cold Day & Pancakes

Leave a Reply

