Easter Tradition

I always feel a teeny bit guilty whenever I take a break from blogging. It isn’t a healthy response but I do. Long story short, I headed back to Trinidad for a short while, still here actually and things were a bit busy. Fear not, I’ve got your serving of blog-meat this week.

It’s my favourite time of year! Easter has been and still is my favourite holiday for a couple of reasons:

  1. When I was younger my family got together, ate and spent time together. What I looked forward to the most were our traditions. The family on my dad’s side would gather together at one uncle’s house. His wife always cooked a yummy fish dish accompanied by other local traditional Easter foods and another aunt always made us (cousins) Easter treat bags full of sweets and chocolates.
  2. Every year my parents bought us those huge, hollow, chocolate bunnies that would put you in a sugar coma if you tried eating it all in one day.
  3. My sister and I had an unhealthy obsession with eggs. Random fact: we used to collect lizard eggs and “babysit” them until one of us accidentally broke them. Anything egg shaped or egg like we “eeeped” about and were drawn to magnetically. So a holiday that celebrated eggs was the godfather of holidays.
  4. In my latter teen years, I befriended the Man behind this season. His death and resurrection is the reason we celebrate and I am grateful for the blood He shed for us.

However, there is one tradition that is original to Trinidad and I’ve heard people talk about and witnessed but never partook in. It’s called “Beat the Bobolee.” The word bobolee (yeps, sounds just as its spelt… now say it fast 10 times) is used to describe a person who is taken advantage of by others.

On Good Friday, some residents of T&T would create a dummy of Judas Iscariot made from old clothes that is stuffed with rags or dried grass. It is placed in a public place and anyone who passes, young and old, is welcomed to “beat the bobolee” with sticks, kicks or slaps. The beating symbolised retribution for Judas for betraying Jesus Christ but is done purely for fun and jokingly.

I’m sure you know where I’m going with this. Yeppers. I wanted to beat a bobolee. So naturally, I made mine into a piñata.

If you have 6 hours in your life to spare, try making a piñata. Then add it to your professional resume under skills. I’m sure it will make a notable impression on your future employer. To keep this light, I’ll omit the details of my piñata-making experience. As per usual, I took photos to tell the story. You know the routine, hover over photos for commentary.

 

We all had a fun time beating Mr. Bobolee. At one point we were concerned that it wouldn’t burst. I guess my piñata making skill is superb. I could open ah small shop man. Plus, the rewards were very much enjoyed. For more on Easter Traditions in T&T click here.

What are some Easter Traditions you celebrate? I’d love to hear your stories! I pray that your Easter weekend would be blessed, fun and reflective.

He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee: ‘The Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ – Luke 24:6-7.

Leave a Reply

