Road Trippin through Texas | Part IV

Our fifth stop was at Enchanted Rock. Have you ever been there? It was breath taking, literally. Rewind to days before the trip, Rob showed me the web page for Enchanted Rock while scoping out different places to visit. I saw a beautiful piece of rock surrounded by greenery and hiking trails. So I figured, “Great! We’ll get pictures near the rock and on the hiking trails.” Little did I know that the actual rock was a hike, all by itself. Heh

We got there an hour before sunset, Saturday evening. The sky was blue and the rock was orange. Mind you, I still hadn’t awakened to the fact that hiking up the rock was on the agenda. After walking in the direction of the rock and nearing it, I noticed that the people in front of us were beginning to climb the rock and people were climbing down the rock, heading our way. It all made sense to me then. “Babe! Do we have to climb to the top?” There was a piiinch of terror in my voice. Rob laughed.

“Not if you don’t want to.” Phew. But as we climbed and climbed and climbed some more, the top of the rock didn’t seem to be getting any closer. I was gasping for air and shot my hand up like a toddler trying to communicate who hadn’t yet learned to talk. Rob handed me my water bottle and I inhaled it.

As we sat and contemplated whether to continue or not, an aged lady and what seemed to be her daughter, passed us on their way back down. Rob asked them how much further to the top. The old lady said, “Fifteen more minutes I think.” And she confirmed with her daughter. Then she looked back at us as cheekily and said, “The view is worth it. If I can do it, you guys can definitely do it.” Thanks for bruising my ego little old lady.

I motioned with my hand for Rob to continue along and I’d soon follow. We were pretty high then and I was able to see miles and miles of land before me. Trees, buildings, farms, roads and teeny-tiny cars. ‘Ok, you can do this. You work out three times a week for calories sake.’ I was up again, this time taking small strides. Finally, I made it to the top. I felt like Rocky and could even hear his theme song playing in my head. The view really was worth the climb. My photos will do the talking now.

After witnessing one of the most spectacular sunsets ever, we headed back home and called it a night. Stay tuned for the final part of our Texas adventure!

2 thoughts on “Road Trippin through Texas | Part IV

Leave a comment